Dale Warland

1993 F. Melius Christiansen Lifetime Achievement Award
Dale Warland

Dale Warland organized the Dale Warland Singers in 1972. The ensemble has garnered an international reputation for its commitment to the commissioning and performance of new works by American composers and pioneering efforts to increase professional employment opportunities for ensemble singers. Throughout its history, the performance of contemporary music has been at the core of the DWS' artistic mission. Commissions have been awarded to such composers as Dominick Argento, Stephen Paulus, George Shearing, Libby Larsen, William Hawley, Anthony Davis, Jalalu-Kalvert Nelson, William Schuman, and Bernard Rands. As a result of this long-standing commitment, the DWS received the first annual Margaret Hillis Achievement Award for Choral Excellence in 1992, and the ASCAP Award for Adventuresome Programming of Contemporary American Repertoire in 1992 and 1993.

Dr. Warland received the Bachelor of Arts degree from St. Olaf College, Master of Arts Degree from the University of Minnesota, and Doctor of Musical Arts from the University of Southern California. His professional teaching career began in 1963 at Humboldt State College, Arcanta, California. He moved to New York in 1965 to become Chairman of the Music Department and Director of Choral Music at Keuka College. In 1967 he returned to the Midwest as Director of Choral Music at Macalester College and served in that capacity until 1985.

Beyond his schedule as Music Director of the Dale Warland Singers, he is active as a guest conductor, workshop leader, composer and has conducted several prestigious international ensembles including the Swedish Radio Choir, the Danish Radio Choir, the Mormon Tabernacle Choir, and the Cameran Singers of Israel. September 1993 marked the first releases from a new Dale Warland Choral Series with Walton Music Corporation and Plymouth Music Company.

Dr. Warland is a member of ASCAP, a past board member of Chorus America, a life member of ACDA, and has served as co-chair of the choral and recording panels of the National Endowment for the Arts. He holds a Distinguished Alumnus Award from St. Olaf College, the University of Southern California, and an Honorary Doctorate from Augustana College.