Advocate for Choral Excellence (ACE) Awards

Overview/Purpose of the ACE award:

  • Celebrates the efforts of people across Minnesota who do outstanding work for their communities, serving the choral art.
  • Helps “bring to light” the creative ways people have nurtured the choral art.
  • Increases the awareness of the ACDA-MN membership of the quality work being performed on a regular basis throughout our state.
  • Provides a way for each District to celebrate their members’ work, increasing awareness and building on our statewide history of “grassroots” development.

2015 Recipients
Central:  MJ Nelson, Swanville/Upsala
Metro East:  Dianne Nash, St. Andrew's Lutheran Church, Mahtomedi
Metro West:  Michelle Weber, JW Pepper, Minnesota
Northeast:  Emily Valine, Duluth
Northwest:  Bob and Lora Lee Saeter, Fertile
Southeast:  Bob "BJ" Johnson, Northfield
Southwest:  Sandra Sunde, St. James

2014 Recipients
Central:  Jane Oxton, St. Cloud
Northeast:  Roy and Nadine Berg, Hibbing
Northwest:  Elaine Erdahl, Fertile
Southeast:  Peter Dahlen, Northfield
Southwest:  Paul Karelis, Worthington HS
Metro East:  Nicole Marschall, Eagan HS
Metro West:  Peggy Borowski and Nancy Fargo, Minnetonka

2013 Recipients
Central - William White, St. Joseph
Northeast - Barbara Baldrica, Virginia
Northwest - James Kent, Crookston
Southeast - Mary Davis, Northfield
Southwest - Gordon Orde, Worthington
Metro East - Lori Sager, Woodbury
Metro West - Roger Hoel, Minnetonka

2012 Recipients
Northeast - Jan Scovill, Coon Rapids
Northwest - Ted Masog, Verndale
Southeast - Eileen Ness, Albert Lea
Southwest - Jim Swearningen, Chanhassen HS, Chanhassen
MetroEast - Marcia Torning, Lakeland
MetroWest - Marcus Johnson, Groth Music, Bloomington

2011 Recipients
Northeast District: Jerry Kaldor and Marilyn Odean, Duluth
Northwest District: Joann Weber, St. John;s Boy's Chorus
Southeast District: Jessica Dant, Owatonna
Southwest District: Jane Fox. Chaska
Metro East District: Rob Franchino, Eastview High School, Apple Valley
Metro West District: Steven Staruch, Minnesota Public Radio

2010 Recipients
Northeast District: Carol Carver, Stillwater
Northwest District: Adair Horgen, Morris
Metro East District: Jane Ramseyer Miller, St. Paul
Metro West District: Douglas Geston, Golden Valley
Southeast District: Almore Mathsen, Spring Grove
Southwest District: Myrna Eppeland, St. James

2009 Recipients
Northeast District: Sheila Shusterich, Duluth
Northwest District: Gladys Hovland, Pelican Rapids
Metro East District: Margaret Boehlke, Rosemount
Metro West District: Michael Wolsted, Plymouth
Southeast District: Douglas Strandell, Pine Island
Southwest District: Cheryl Bungum, Paynesville

2008 Recipients
Northeast District: Garrett Lathe, Sartell
Northwest District: Carol Smith and Jennifer Pelowski, Brainerd
Metro West District: John Hoffacker, Golden Valley
Southeast District: Clark Johnson, Mantorville
Southwest District: Sally Peterson, Kerkhoven